Problem with oil.

General Honda PCX chat, questions about the PCX, or questions about riding.

Moderator: Modsquad

Koutei

Problem with oil.

Post by Koutei »

Hello everyone! I am new to this forum and actually came across it when trying to diagnose a problem I am having with my pcx. I am pretty sure the problem is something of my own making due to my ignorance as a first time scooter owner. Here's the history and description of the problem.

I have been riding my scooter for about 2 years now, I purchased it new from a dealer in the beginning of 2011 and rode it as my main mode of transportation until it became too cold in November '11. (It received it's first oil change in June '11, I replaced the oil with the recommended "pro honda" brand. The mileage was a tad bit over the first 3000 miles.) When It was too cold to ride, I stored it in an open garage where it was safe from most of the elements but not from heat or cold. In spring, around the end of February beginning of March, I brought it out and began riding again. I have been riding from then until August when the first problem showed up. I was riding to school, made it about 7 miles away from my house when the engine just died going down a hill. I tried restarting and it would turn over but refuse to stay going and could not idle. I am a college student and didn't have the money to take it to a dealer then, so it sat in the garage for about two weeks when my father and uncle recommended we try a few things before taking it in. Mainly, they wanted to recheck the oil because I had been "neglecting it" in their opinion, and the engine got too low and died. I disagreed because I thought I had at least another few months before I needed to worry about that. But I agreed to try it because I was hoping it would be something simple and even if I was too stupid to check the oil, I would prefer that to having my baby die.