Hi, new PCX here!

General Honda PCX chat, questions about the PCX, or questions about riding.

Moderator: Modsquad

C-Note
Regular User
Regular User

Hi, new PCX here!

Post by C-Note »

Hi all, this is my first time visiting this forum. i am a 'almost new' PCX owner in the Chicago, IL USA area. Been riding for about 8 weeks now and love the economy of this vehicle.

I do have a question: Has anyone had any issues starting their scoot? Sometimes I push the start button and "nothing" happens. After fiddling with the ignition on/off and re-trying it usually starts.
gn2
Forum Benefactor
Forum Benefactor
Year: None

Re: Hi, new PCX here!

Post by gn2 »

Hi C-Note!
Yep, I have had that a few times and it's always because I haven't pulled the brake lever enough.
Now I push and hold the starter button and squeeze the brake till it fires up.
When I get the brake pressure right and it engages the starter, the engine always starts first time no matter what the weather is like or whether the engine is hot or cold.
Four decades on two wheels has taught me nothing, all advice given is guaranteed to be wrong
C-Note
Regular User
Regular User

Post by C-Note »

Thanks for the reply. I am aware of the need pull the rear brake in hard enough to engage the starter. I'll have to try holding the button while squeezing, that's something I hadn't thought of.

I spoke to the Honda service people yesterday about it and they had not experienced the problem. I'm gonna have them check into it when i take it in for the 600 mi. check soon.

It is a bit un-nerving when I try to start it and nothing happens.
Teamtd11
Regular User
Regular User

Post by Teamtd11 »

Ive had the bike struggle to start once or twice but never had a problem with nothing at all happening when I try and start her.
You best get her a bunch of flowers because it sounds like she needs some love<3
Taz
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Post by Taz »