Sizing helmets online

Anything and everything not related to anything else on this site.

Moderator: Modsquad

Keebler Dwarf

Sizing helmets online

Post by Keebler Dwarf »

Hi all,

I'm very new to this scooter thing. I bought a Scorpion EXO 400 helmet to start out with and almost immediately wished I'd bought a high-end helmet. I'm seeing a lot of decent-looking Nolan helmets online and I think they would about fit the bill. How does one ensure that the fit is right on helmets they haven't ever actually tried on? I'm told that every company sizes their helmets differently, so though I'm an XXL for Scorpion, maybe I might not be the same size for everyone.

Also, I'm presently in the US but in a year or so I hope to be in another country- not sure where yet- and I'd like to buy a bike/scooter there if job and environment permit. What are the odds that if I buy a quality helmet it will be legal to wear in any country I go to? I have my eye on Japan/Taiwan/Korea.
JGC
Regular User
Regular User

Re: Sizing helmets online

Post by JGC »

The helmet sizing is very very hit and miss, I had a Nolan but couldn't live with it. I have Shoie Multitech, which to me is the most comfy helmet I've had, HJC rub the back of my head something chronic, Caberg I can't even fit! I will add at this point that I wear two hearing aids and salso wear glasses. So for me I would not look any further than Shoie's now!
OK as for finding right fit, best advice I can honestly give you is this. You need to try as many different lids as you can until you hit upon the one that you find comfortable, it might be 'high end' (as you call it) or it could be middle of the road.
So go around as many different bike shops as you can. Once you've found what works for you, go and buy that one online if it works out cheaper.
maddiedog
Benevolent Overlord
Benevolent Overlord
Year: 2011
Color: White

Post by maddiedog »