Unspoken Law of "The Nod"

General Honda PCX chat, questions about the PCX, or questions about riding.

Moderator: Modsquad

RichyP
Regular User
Regular User
Year: 2013
Color: White

Unspoken Law of "The Nod"

Post by RichyP »

This post is a bit of fun, but thought i would share,

I am a bit older than perhaps the average scooter rider, being 32 and all, there has been a few interesting and amusing things I have discovered riding in the UK.

I have been riding for 18 months now, and here is my take on NOD LAW!

Background -
The first few days I was on my bike and I was riding to and from work, I discovered other bikers nodding at me! This at first confused me as i thought they were perhaps trying to make me aware of something wrong with my bike etc. After i got to work for the first time, I decided to check my bike to see if anything was actually hanging off. - noob i know!

Alas, I did not understood my initiation into the biker world and the unspoken laws and rules of NODDING!

So here are my observations on "The Law Of The Nod" -

SIMILAR NODS
It appears from my observation that other bikers on similar power or type of bikes will nod at you and you return or vice versa. First few times this is quite strange, but makes you smile and feel all warm and fuzzy like you are part of an unknown unspoken of family! Hey you, you have a bike like me! - I am going to nod at you, hey, mr shopkeep you have a face like me, have a nod! Since moving up from a smaller scooter to a PCX I get alot more Nods from big biker riders, I put this down to the fact that the front end doesn't look like a scooter, I've even had big bike riders looking at the side of my bike as they go past, as they cannot recognise what kind of bike it is off the bat.

DON'T NOD TO . . .