the motorcyclist Wave

General Honda PCX chat, questions about the PCX, or questions about riding.

Moderator: Modsquad

socoguy78
Regular User
Regular User

the motorcyclist Wave

Post by socoguy78 »

I've started breaking in my engine on my pcx150 I got last month. I used to only ride around residential streets around my house and college campus. Rarely see any motorcycles, but always see 50cc scooters. btw, I'm in Springfield, MO, about 150k people and mainly a college town.

Last weekend I started riding for longer durations and on faster roads up to 45mph.

At first I had no clue what was going on... I kept seeing all these "arm waves" in different positions from other riders. Are these secret messages I was wondering?

ha! It's a Wave! I figured it out and felt like I belonged to a group of like minded people, while I never ride in a "pack" having no one to go on riding trips with. It was a huge lift in self esteem on my side to be acknowledged by other motorcycles.

I've gotten 2 fingers sticking up from the left handle bar, peace signs shown at the side, and open palms as if they are trying to shake my hand or tilting their head down and up while making eye contact.

Always get waved at by sport bikers, young Harley riders maybe in their 20s, people in their 60s plus. I never get waved at by those who look like they should be on the Sons of Anarchy TV show; those Harley Riders just ignore me.

I've started doing the wave and will never get waved back by 50cc scooters... They look at me as if I'm crazy.

Anyone have stories of their waves?

I had one guy on a Harley and I pulled up fast on his side and he acknowledged I was there, then looked at my PCX and looked surprised. He stood up on his seat and rode his Harley as if he was surfing while trying to get me to follow. haha, well... that was my first time riding my pcx on a long 45mph road. If one thing with age has taught me... don't get involved with shenanigans until I'm ready to be a safe shenanigan.